About Us

The National University Rail Center of Excellence (NURail CoE) is a nine-university consortium led by the University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign (UIUC) and is the first academic research and education center to be supported by the U.S. Department of Transportation Federal Railroad Administration. Our mission is to develop solutions that will lead to a safer, more efficient, and reliable passenger and freight rail transportation system in the United States. NURail CoE will attract, inspire, and educate a new and diverse generation of students in railway transportation engineering and provide them with the knowledge to implement these solutions in their pursuit of rail careers.

The nine-partner institutions that comprise the NURail CoE are:

  • University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign
  • University of Illinois Chicago
  • University of Delaware
  • Kansas State University
  • Michigan Technological University
  • Morgan State University
  • Rutgers University
  • University of Texas at Austin
  • Tuskegee University